Kaleidoscope

I’ve been
unwittingly whittled,
strip, strip.
Unyielding shields yielded,
torn, scraped away,
rip.
A diamond-crusted raincoat.
A once-steadfast stay.
An exoskeleton
deflecting unexpected blows.
Dragon scales
refracting light
in shimmering displays
of prismatic rainbows.
Brilliant, but invisible
thankless, but bold
something surrounding me,
keeping me whole.

Destroyed
before I could notice its presence,
Gone
before I could fathom its absence.

 Chipped at endlessly,
chip,
chip,
breaking flakily away,
as defenses lost ground and
insecurities took grip.
Eroding
slowly
Creeping
without cession
Numbing
the slow
but steady
progression
of insistant
exposure,
until I was
naked, wind-whipped, sunburnt
without closure

How did I miss the fixed
drip,
drip,
of my warm, orange, liquid courage
leaking in oily tears
onto asphalt?
Black, hungry, heedless
 it swallowed my oil slick
surrendered from allegorical slit wrists.
Oblivious to my sacrificial rainbow stains,
careless of symbolic,
Heroic remains
of life before grey.

Or maybe not a drip but a
tic,
tic,
Sands slip
through an inevitable hour glass
that won’t flip.
(Flip!)
Won’t right itself to fill its self-made void
or turn back time I didn’t know to miss.
A tangly mess of a brave child
who couldn’t care less

When life couldn’t have been clearer,
It was rainbows and hope.
And her mind wasn’t a mirror.
It was a kaleidoscope.

Leave a Reply

